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Getting better results but need refining.
September 26, 2016
1:51 am
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OK I split tested the same ad and squeeze page with different targeting and found one that was getting results that are in the ballpark.  Do you see anything obvious that could help get it to the next level?

Running about 5 days:

Reach: 3298
Conversions: 18
CTR: 1.97%
Clicks: 85
Cost per conversion: $1.83  
CPC (All) .39
Relevance 5

The first 2 days it was doing pretty well and was down to $1.19/conversion but then the third day I was surprised to get Zero conversions and 4th and fifth got about 3. 
Since I have double opt in not every conversion translates to an email.  So 8 out of 18 completed the double opt in.  

A few observations.
I have age range from 25-55.  My cost per conversion for 25-35 is high at 4.47  The older 2 ranges are better.
Should I be raising raise the bottom and top age ranges?

I am targeting US, UK, Australia, and Canada.  
UK cost per conversion is best at 1.23
Australia 3.56, Canada 2.44, US no results but only 339 impressions so not much spent there either.
Should I drop any of these yet or continue to try to tweak?  Or do I break them out to different Ad Sets and tweak each one individually under the assumption that different countries might respond to different targeting, Ads, copy, squeeze pg, etc.?

I'll attach a screenshot of the ad as well as the squeeze page and Thank you page.  If you want to see it in action, the URL is http://davefreesong.com 

On the Thank You page if on desktop it play one of my music videos in the background.  On mobile the background is the same picture as the squeeze page. Could the video be hurting my double opt in rate since we want to build the relationship via the free song emails?  The double opt in email is pretty simple.  I do mention liking my FB on the bottom which has resulted in additional FB Likes.  

I think these numbers are in the ballpark and with some tweaking could be onto something that gets results.  
What looks like the weak links that might put this over the top?  The videos calls and forum have been critical to getting me this far so any advice greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

AUDIENCE DETAILS
Location:
Australia, Canada, United Kingdom, United States
Age: 25 - 55

People Who Match:
Interests: Red Hot Chili Peppers discography, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Blood Sugar Sex Magik or Red Hot Chili Peppers Official Bootlegs
And Must Also Match:
Interests: John Frusciante, Dave Navarro, Chad Smith, Anthony Kiedis (Red Hot Chilli Peppers) or Anthony Kiedis

 

Opt-in-email-screenshot.pngImage Enlargerscreen-shot-Thank-you.pngImage Enlargerscreen-shot-squeeze.pngImage EnlargerFB-ad-screenshot.pngImage Enlarger 

 

 
September 26, 2016
2:03 am
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Hey David, that link didn't work for me so I couldn't see the ad.

i would try turning the double opt in off. Aweber still suggests leaving it on, and I still leave it on in many campaigns, but more and more I'm turning it off. People just get spooked and don't confirm. Could be your thank you page. Could be something else. I'd go ahead and turn it off.

Aside from that, your relevance score and your click through rate indicate that your ad could be improved. Ideally your relevance score would be up around 8 or better and your CTR would be around 3% or better. But you're within range. Just a few more tweaks to take it over the edge.

Your targeting could still be an issue. But it looks alright. You're using more variables than I usually do, but it all seems to make sense.

Might be worth split testing some images with your winning targeting. If you do that. Kill the campaign and start a new one from scratch so that you reset FB's algorithm. 

Having trouble with your marketing? Wish you could have an experienced direct-to-fan marketing expert look over your actual campaigns, music, or content and offer feedback? Or perhaps you’re just looking for a little one-on-one assistance so you can ask questions that pertain to your specific goals and get a second, more experienced, perspective? Click here to book a session with me now.

September 26, 2016
6:50 am
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Hey David,

I left this window open and when I came back a few hours later the images were up. The link still doesn't work, but I didn't realize you had attachments.

The ads look pretty good. The images and vibe are all great. I think there is room for improvement in the ad copy, as well as the squeeze page. What you are doing is obviously quite different than what I teach in terms of layout. What you have looks good, and is much "hipper" but my "ugly" squeeze page template is ugly for a reason, at least to a large extent. I worry that you may need more copy to make people feel comfortable enough to confirm and even sign up to begin with. Perhaps you can blend the two styles so that you have the functionality of a page like I teach people to create, and the branding you are going for? Branding is great, but that copy is pretty important. It's designed to overcome resistance, and I don't know that the short form copy you have does that. 

But hey, if you can get the conversions for the price you need them, than that's all that matters. There are a lot of ways to skin this cat.

Having trouble with your marketing? Wish you could have an experienced direct-to-fan marketing expert look over your actual campaigns, music, or content and offer feedback? Or perhaps you’re just looking for a little one-on-one assistance so you can ask questions that pertain to your specific goals and get a second, more experienced, perspective? Click here to book a session with me now.

September 28, 2016
2:25 am
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OK I'll try to split test some of those things and will post results.  

One question on targeting strategy that I'm unsure about is, if I see out of a few demographics certain ones are getting better results than others, for example UK has CTR of 2.25% $1.03 per conversion but Canada has CTR of 1.49% $3.90 per conversion, I know if I dumped the weaker performing countries that Ad Set's stats would go up.  So should I kill any weaker demographic groups and just really push with the strong ones with the best numbers, OR if the numbers are not awful try to tweak the copy Ad etc and keep all the countries that are not doing horrible to try to salvage those weaker ones?  This is an important distinction because would dictate very different strategies.  Thanks.

September 30, 2016
6:11 pm
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Hey David,

Yes, turning off any segment that is under performing is certainly an option. It just depends how out of whack they are. You also want to make sure that you have had enough traffic from that segment to conclusively decide to turn it off.

I personally tend to just shut off a campaign and start a fresh one with the new targeting options when I come to a conclusion like that. You could try just turning it off and see if it doesn't confuse FB's algorithm, but if, when you turn it off, the campaign starts to perform poorly, then I would just kill it and start from scratch with the new refined options.

But again, just make sure you have statistical significance before turning something significant off.

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October 2, 2016
2:56 am
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 Thanks.  I've been playing with both these strategies.  How many impressions would you say is statistically significant?  

Also I started a new campaign using the same targeting with some minor tweaks such as turning off desktop which was costing twice as much per conversion and getting rid of ages that were performing poorly.  Assuming this would inevitably at least give me slightly better results.  I then kept the exact same ad and squeeze page, then added 2 others with a different picture and squeeze page with that had the same picture as the ad to split test with.  I then started with $20 a day figuring that since I was at $6 a day with the single ad I would about triple that since it would be spread over 3 ads.  

The odd thing is that for some demographics the click through rate was really improved for some.  One was over 5%.  Overall CTR was better since I dumped desktop, which makes sense.  But I got 1 conversions after spending $23 whereas before I was getting 5-7 a day with only $6 a day.  How could CRT go up and conversions go down that dramatically with the same ad and other ads that seem to be getting even better CTR than the original.  Do I need to let it run to get more data?  It didn't make much sense to me.  I paused it at 1677 impressions.  I then went back to the original campaign above, and added 1 of the new pics to split test with and seem to be still getting similar results.  

Do you find you get worse results on weekends?  Just from my few tests I tend to see a drop on weekends.  Is this typical or just coincidence?

I've heard that changing something too dramatically in an existing campaign can totally screw up the algorithm.  Is there any rule of thumb on when to start from scratch vs when to tweak an existing?  

Sorry bout all the questions at once but I am getting the hang of it and want to make sure I'm not missing the mark cuz of not understanding something properly.  Sometimes a single piece of the puzzle can give you the ah ha you need to put it over the top.  

Thanks!

October 4, 2016
12:31 am
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Hey David,

I'll answer everything in context...

David Blair said
 Thanks.  I've been playing with both these strategies.  How many impressions would you say is statistically significant?  

It might depend a bit on the objective and what aspect of statistical significance you were looking at. But if I wanted to get a sense of my click through rate, I'd probably like to see at least 1000 - 2000 impressions. If you were looking at conversions, I'd want to probably see 100 - 200 clicks, and so forth. But I don't know that I have a hard and fast rule. Sometimes you just know it;s a dud and it's time to turn things off. But if it's close, you do need to give it some time. It can take FB's algorithm a good 3 or 4 days to hone in on the segment of your audience that is converting best. Because I am so focused on conversions, I tend to focus on those more than impressions and clicks. I only look at those when troubleshooting. In other words, I don't care about how many impressions I get or how cheap my clicks are, I care about the cost per conversion. While they are all toed together, it can happen where you have a great CTR but terrible conversions and visa versa.

Also I started a new campaign using the same targeting with some minor tweaks such as turning off desktop which was costing twice as much per conversion and getting rid of ages that were performing poorly.  Assuming this would inevitably at least give me slightly better results.  I then kept the exact same ad and squeeze page, then added 2 others with a different picture and squeeze page with that had the same picture as the ad to split test with.  I then started with $20 a day figuring that since I was at $6 a day with the single ad I would about triple that since it would be spread over 3 ads.  

The odd thing is that for some demographics the click through rate was really improved for some.  One was over 5%.  Overall CTR was better since I dumped desktop, which makes sense.  But I got 1 conversions after spending $23 whereas before I was getting 5-7 a day with only $6 a day.  How could CRT go up and conversions go down that dramatically with the same ad and other ads that seem to be getting even better CTR than the original.  Do I need to let it run to get more data?  It didn't make much sense to me.  I paused it at 1677 impressions.  I then went back to the original campaign above, and added 1 of the new pics to split test with and seem to be still getting similar results.  

What I suspect here is that the attention span of your audience was lower on mobile, and so while people are engaging more, they are also on the go and taking less action. But that is totally just a guess. Another issue might be that you are messing with the ad in the middle of the campaign and that is confusing FB's algorithm. Whenever something doesn't work I refine something, I kill the campaign and start from scratch. That is what I would try first.

Do you find you get worse results on weekends?  Just from my few tests I tend to see a drop on weekends.  Is this typical or just coincidence?

Absolutely. Saturdays are hit and miss, Sundays are terrible. I've heard from some people who do well on a Sunday, but Tues - Thursday, are considered to be the best days for conversions.

I've heard that changing something too dramatically in an existing campaign can totally screw up the algorithm.  Is there any rule of thumb on when to start from scratch vs when to tweak an existing?  

Yep, my answer above addresses this.

Sorry bout all the questions at once but I am getting the hang of it and want to make sure I'm not missing the mark cuz of not understanding something properly.  Sometimes a single piece of the puzzle can give you the ah ha you need to put it over the top.  

Thanks!  

No worries. Hope that helps.

Having trouble with your marketing? Wish you could have an experienced direct-to-fan marketing expert look over your actual campaigns, music, or content and offer feedback? Or perhaps you’re just looking for a little one-on-one assistance so you can ask questions that pertain to your specific goals and get a second, more experienced, perspective? Click here to book a session with me now.

November 18, 2016
3:14 am
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OK I've been playing with a few different ads and squeeze pages over the last few weeks.  

I created a squeeze page based off your template and added more copy. http://www.davefreesong.com/landing/
When I split tested against the page above it performed nominally better on desktop but still only converts at 12-15% most of the time.  I have adds that are getting 2.5-3% CTR which is in the ballpark so it seems the squeeze page is the weakest link.

I've also noticed that the simpler page like the one above seems to convert better on mobile.  I'd assume because having lots of text is just hard to read on mobile.  But still that is also converting at about 15%.  

Is the solution just to keep split testing copy and try to inch it up?  Any suggestions on copy or other changes to split test?

On a completely separate note.  I read in one FB marketing book on split testing one user found that that having https: SSL security on their pages increased conversions.  I would assume because some feel more comfortable that its a legit site if it has ssl certification, or maybe their computer or work firewall would be less likely to block.  It makes sense that it could help.  I'll try it and let you know if it works.

Thanks.

November 20, 2016
11:28 am
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I had a look at this squeeze page: http://www.davefreesong.com/landing/

All of the copy seems to be in bold. It looks a bit funny to me, but I honestly don't know how, or if, it affects conversions.

One problem might be that you mention Incubus, RHCP, Prince, Santana and Van Halen  (just to name a few). For me personally that actually made me interested, but I'm not sure if that's the case for RHCP fans in general. I'm not a fan of them, although I think "One Hot Minute" is a great album, so if you have me interested you may need to worry 😀 Just joking. But it might be you're mentioning too many bands.

A couple of your quotes don't have a source. Is there a reason for that?

Other than that it looks good. Hope that helps.

Cheers,

 

Elmo

November 20, 2016
8:31 pm
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Hey Dave,

It looks like some of your modifications may have broke a few things. While the MMM template is mobile friendly, yours is not displaying as mobile friendly. It's also causing the background to display as static and the text runs off of the background and looks a bit off. That would certainly be a likely candidate for the bad performance on mobile, where things usually perform better.

I also agree with Elmo that the all-bold text looks a bit odd. Also using the bullet points for the descriptive paragraph forces my mind to read them like bullets rather than a flowing series of paragraphs. It's hard for me to know where the quotes stop and the supporting text begins.

What you might do to fix the theme is to activate a different theme temporarily. Delete the MMM theme. Then re-download the MMM template, and then re-upload it and activate it. Then confirm that it is displaying correctly on mobile and go through the site to make sure all of your key content is displaying correctly. You will lose some changes you have made. But it will likely be easier than trying to figure out where it was broken.

Having trouble with your marketing? Wish you could have an experienced direct-to-fan marketing expert look over your actual campaigns, music, or content and offer feedback? Or perhaps you’re just looking for a little one-on-one assistance so you can ask questions that pertain to your specific goals and get a second, more experienced, perspective? Click here to book a session with me now.

December 29, 2016
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OK I've rebuilt the page and done a bunch of split testing.  I have targeting and Ad that is in the ballpark of 3% and relevance 7-8 for several countries.  so we are in the ballpark with the Ad.

The weak link at this point is squeeze page conversions.  I've tried multiple headlines, pics, etc. and the best ones still seems to consistently get about 15%.  I'll put links to a couple.  Let me know if you have any suggestions.

This is the Last split test I did: 

I basically just had one Adset with 2 of the same ad running but each pointing to a different Squeeze Page.  

https://www.davefreesong.com/download5/
Converted about 13% After about 3300 impressions 112 clicks / 14 Leads.

Most of the clicks and Leads were on Mobile and the conversion ratio was a little better on mobile but nothing significant.

2nd Squeeze page https://www.davefreesong.com/download6/
Facebook favored the first one and only gave this one about 337 impressions which got 11 clicks and 0 Leads.
But I'm not sure if the 2nd is really that poor since FB didn't give it much chance before favoring the first one to get any statistical significance.  

Any suggestions on getting better squeeze page conversions?  Thanks.

January 2, 2017
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Hey David,

Sorry for the slow response. Been a bit behind over the holidays.

My biggest reactions are the squeeze page headlines. They trip me up a bit as I read them. For starters (and this may just me getting old) but I didn't immediately know what you meant by RHCP. I'm a fan of the band but had never scene Red Hot Chilly Peppers abbreviated like that. I had to Google it to figure out who you meant. That may not be the same for everyone, but if it applies to even a portion of your visitors it would be an obvious problem. 

I like the words "Face melting guitar" but I guess I'd rather have you describe the funky qualities in a similar way as apposed to just mentioning other artists.

I also was thrown by the quotes. There is just one attribution. Are the all quotes from the same person? That read weird to me. 

The good news is that you are getting there. 15% is too low but a few tweaks can get that number up to where it needs to be.

Another thing Id point out is that 7% relevance score is too low in my experience. Virtually all of my profitable ads have a relevance score of 8% - 10%. So there is still a little room for improvement there.

Having trouble with your marketing? Wish you could have an experienced direct-to-fan marketing expert look over your actual campaigns, music, or content and offer feedback? Or perhaps you’re just looking for a little one-on-one assistance so you can ask questions that pertain to your specific goals and get a second, more experienced, perspective? Click here to book a session with me now.

January 3, 2017
4:38 am
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Thanks, I'll split test some versions with those ideas and let you know the results.  

I was using RHCP since the Ad that is getting decent clicks refers to RHCP so figured if they clicked they must know  Also I'm targeting hard core fans so I think most would know.  But I'll spell out the full name to see if it causes any uptick.  

My first tweaked version is "If You Love RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, P-FUNK Infectious Bass Grooves, and Face Melting Guitar, You Need Dave Blair On Your iPod..." So we'll see how different versions of that work.

The relevancy one another run with the exact same ad and I think the same Squeeze page got a relevancy of 8 which is the highest I've gotten.  Its odd that I can run the exact same ad and get varying stats.  I guess unless you have thousands of impressions you won't have a wide enough data set to produce super consistent results.  But the trends do seem consistent and get more so with more impressions, which I would expect.  

As far as the quotes, yes they are 3 quotes from the same review.  I though that they were all descriptive quotes that might generate interest.  I don't really have any other published reviews at this point.  Do you think I should keep them as is or change it?

January 3, 2017
9:56 pm
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Sounds good David. If it was me I would try to get away from mentioning specific artists and instead focus on the qualities of those artists. But all that matters is the stats, so whatever works.

I relevancy score of 8 is pretty good. But if you can get that up to 9 or 10 you will see that prices are a lot cheaper. The Relevancy score is just an indicator though, so when I say get the score up, I really just mean work on ad image/copy/targeting for an even greater message to market match.

To me the three quotes from one reviewer was confusing. If it were me I would use multiple quotes, or just a longer single quote. Whatever it takes to get things to line up nicely alongside the image. One quote is ok. Multiple quotes are better. If you are need of more quotes there are a number of services out there that allow you to pay for reviews. It wouldn't take much to get a few more quotes. But I wouldn't stress it or let it hold you up either.

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January 25, 2017
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I'm still struggling with conversion rate.  My CTRs have been consistently around 3% so I think the targeting and ad are generating decent traffic.  Here is a link to the Ad that seems to be doing ok. https://www.facebook.com/daveb.....9902692733

For some reason the blog doesn't show the url above, it tries to embed it into the post or something but if you click on the date it will bring you to the actual Ad in FB. 

But conversion is only between 10-15%.  I've tried at least half dozen other headlines and other copy tweaks but no significant difference. 
Heres a few recent examples.  Any suggestions on what else to try?
Thanks.

http://www.davefreesong.com/download8/

http://www.davefreesong.com/download9/

http://www.davefreesong.com/download7/

January 27, 2017
7:59 am
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Looking at everything my feeling is still the same as in my last post. I feel that all of the elements I mentioned are still on the page. Your current page is doing a fine job of describing what other bands your music sounds like, but I am not getting any particular essence of who you are or the interesting story that is no doubt there.

When I read that I walk away with feeling like you make music similar to the RHCP. That might entice some (and it obviously is) but I think it will take something a bit more dynamic to entice a greater number.

I also still thing the relevance score is an indicator that, while things are good with your ad, they could still be improved.

Hope that helps.

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